Lifestyle & Fitness

TV Celebrity Neha Sareen Shows You How To Make-Up Your Holiday Attitude

As a television presenter, movie critic and host for live shows, Neha Sareen is always trying out new hair, make-up and clothing styles to keep her look fresh and interesting. While on the sets, Neha has stylists to create that perfect appearance, but on her own time, she is always searching for easier and quicker options to recreate that salon-style look. 
 
Disha: What are some of your hairstyle tips for the holiday season?
Neha: For me, December means going out often. I can’t get my hair blow dried every day and I really have to have a plan B for a bad hair day. So I am always on the lookout for cool, interesting and easy ways to tie my hair. I love the low side bun – it’s my go to favorite – as it works with a formal black gown or a cocktail/concept saree. If you have a defined jawline, an added benefit is that it enhances your features.
I pick a style based more on how my hair feels that morning vs. where I am going that day. If my hair is “oh so greasy” and I am too lazy to wash it, then I prefer to tie it stylishly. If it is bouncy and winking “I’ve got volume”, then I get scrunchy. Here is my quick 3 step routine for scrunching my hair:                      
Step 1.Wash and towel-dry hair.
Step 2. Blend L’Oréal Professionnel tecni.art Spiral Splendour with equal amounts of your hair serum and apply to hair in sections. 
Step 3. Air-dry or diffuse as usual.
 
If you plan for a scrunch hairdo the night before, you can follow the steps below to achieve the look without the need to air-dry or use a diffuser.
 
Disha: Would you recommend these looks for a holiday dinner party or a Sunday brunch with the girls?
Neha: The great thing is that these hairstyles can work for the day or night, and for various occasions.  It doesn’t depend on what you are wearing but on how your hair feels that morning.
 
Disha: How about make-up? Anything new and exciting you have tried recently?
Neha: I am really into the fake eyelashes, heavy mascara with nude lips look right now. Check out the Night Out Make-up by Carli Bybel video. Another option is to go for a pop of color on the lips. Though it’s Christmas and red is associated with the holidays, I am feeling pretty “orange” this season and am obsessed with the “Vegas Volt” lip colour from MAC. The key thing to remember is to highlight only one aspect of your face – either the eyes or the lips. The only time you should go strong on both is when you dress for Halloween! (chuckles)
 
Disha: What are your top 3 basic makeup tips for amateurs?
Neha: 1. “Less is more”. Sometimes, just a concealer is enough when your skin feels good. Most of the time, we  are so excited about an occasion, whether it’s a first date, a wedding, a birthday brunch or New Year’s Eve, that we end up doing too much in an effort to look special. Feeling special is more of an attitude that you wear. Use less make-up but wear it with a confident, bold attitude.
 
2. Learn contouring and highlighting. It can mask that double chin. Lift those cheekbones. Define your face. In a nutshell, it can make you look super glam in your next selfie and do wonders for your confidence levels. One of my favourite videos to learn this art is Contouring and Highlighting by Cassandra Bankson.
 
3. Go off the beaten path. People tend to use either concealers or moisturizers or BB creams. While I say yes to all of the above, you can experiment with another option which I personally find very convenient during winter.
Step 1. Blend equal parts concealer and moisturizer on your palm and add a pinch of shimmer powder (please don’t go nuts with the shimmer – just a pinch will do) to create a paste.
Step 2. Apply drops of the paste over your face and blend well as if it were a moisturizer.
Step 3. Enjoy fresh, naturally radiant and well-moisturized skin.
 
Disha: Thank you for sharing your beauty secrets Neha. Happy Holidays!
 
These are the questions I asked Neha because I wanted to learn more about hair/make-up and experiment with new looks this season. These tips are sure to come in handy at my brother’s wedding next month! If you have any specific questions for our in-house beauty expert, please post them in the comment box below.

Leave a comment